2007 Sweet Spot – My best tin yet!

December 5, 2008 at 10:56 am | Posted in Box Breaks | 6 Comments

     Hi kids!  Now that the brouhaha of my recent nuptuals is over and FINALLY paid off, I decided to celebrate my return to collecting and blogging by busting another tin of my absolute favorite product to open.  I’ve been thinking about this for a while now, and for several reasons, 2007 Sweet Spot Signatures is in my opinion one of the best products to bust of the last several years.  The price of a tin is now down to $52.95 delivered to your door.  For less than the price of most boxes out there, you get 2 serial #’d base cards, 2 jersey cards(some with patches), and 2 guaranteed on-card autos.  All bang, no fluff.  Just the way I like it.  If someone just getting back into the hobby after a long break, or someone newly discovering it asked me what to bust, this would be my reccomendation.

     If you’ve read this blog before, you know I haven’t had the best of luck so far with the 2 tins I’ve busted.  My autographs thus far have been a bunch of nobodys.  I think my luck may have turned with this tin though, so without further ado, the pulls.

This is the first swatch card I’ve gotten of someone I consider to be a star player.  They aren’t worth much, but it’s always nice to pull a Jeter relic.

Here’s my rookie auto.  I love the design and idea of these cards.  UD has done away with them for 2008 in favor of a base card auto, and I think it’s a big mistake.  Their aren’t a lot of big name rookies in this checklist, but I think the on-card auto with the helmet design is fantastic.  Plus, I’m pretty sure I can find this one a good home .

This is far and away the best Sweet Spot auto I’ve pulled out of my 3 tins.  Not only a tough to pull bat barrel, but the 2008 NLCS & World Series MVP, and a cool sig to boot.  I don’t know what it is, but I love it when a player has a nice autograph.

I also managed to pull one of these stupid Buysner cards about 8 months after they were last worth something.  That may be my only beef about this tin.  It’s a funny card, but unfortunately it takes the place of a serial #’d base.

     So that’s it for now.  I think I did pretty well with this one, and I’m glad to be back to collecting and blogging.  I’m going to start making time to post more regularly again.  And I think one of my collecting goals for 2009 is going to be to bust an entire 20 tin case of Sweet Spot.  Should be fun!

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Wow, that is a sweet Rick “The Incredible Hurk”. I know it’s probably not what you wanted but you should get something nice for the Cole.

  2. Yeah, I really like Sweet Spot too – but I prefer the “Classic” variety where your odds of getting a really good auto are greater. The Hamels auto is great though. I do like the mini-helmets on the rookie auto cards and I’m sad to hear that those are going away in 2008. I’m looking forward to seeing you blog more frequently now!

  3. Hey Charlie-
    It’s good to see you back…

  4. sweet autos are never in low demand. The hamels is actually a nice pull. Good luck finding a holder for it.

  5. I found the top loaders for three different Andrew Millers and they look great!

  6. Actually the hobby shop by my house sells 130pt two-piece magnetic cases for about $1.70. They look pretty badass with the sweet spot cards in there. I’ll have to take some pictures this weekend for a future post.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

