2009 Hall of Fame Voting – Wtf?

January 12, 2009 at 2:27 pm | Posted in My opinions | 6 Comments

     Another year, another vote, another disappointment for fans of “The Hawk”.

     Seriously, what do you have to do to get in?

Be one of the most dominant and feared players of your era – Check

400+ home runs – Check

1500+ rbi’s – Check

300+ stolen bases – Check

Rookie of the year – Check

MVP – Check (for a last place team to boot) – Double Check

8 gold gloves – Check

8 time all-star – Check

4 silver sluggers – Check

20+ MLB seasons – Check

     Call me a homer if you want to, but the HOF voting is skewed, and I’m pissed.  Seriously, if he never got in before, how suddenly is Jim Rice a better player in his 15th year of elegibility?  This is one of the biggest things that irks me about the BBWAA.  It’s the same guys voting every year.  This year Dawson improved in the vote total by 1.1%, which means there were 3-4 writers who decided Andre is a better player this year than he was last year.  I didn’t see him take any at-bats last season, did you?  Either a player is a HOFer or he isn’t.  Players don’t get better after they retire. 

     Now the case can be made that guys get worse as years go on when you consider McGuire, Palmeiro, et al.  That, however, is a different post entirely.  As far as I know, Dawson has done nothing in the last 8 years to damage his credentials.

     I suppose the only bright side to this is a selfish one.  As a player collector, I haven’t picked up much lately because all of the HOF talk has given a boon to secondary market prices for “my guy”.  Hopefully now, some of this will die down and give me another year to add to my collection on the cheap.

     All in all, I’d rather see The Hawk in the Hall where he deserves to be.  If I was never able to afford another card because of it, so be it.  It’d be worth it to see one of the most deserving players of our life-time ensrined as he should be.

     Just my .02 – what do you think?

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I think Dawson will get in next year. There is no sure-fire candidate like Henderson for the next couple of years.

  2. I think it is a shame that the Hawk continues to have to wait while an inferior player like Rice gets in. Maybe the Chicago sports writers need to start whining like their counterparts in Boston.

  3. It’s a sad day. I am really puzzled by this. Hawk’s vote tally has gone up considerably in the last 2-3 votes and then this happened. I always thought 2010 was going to be the year since there is no real ‘1st ballot’ candidate in the group. I’ll keep my fingers crossed again!!

  4. When Hawk gets in, his prices will die down the year after.

  5. At least we know Dawson will be in for sure if Rice gets in somehow.

    Good luck in 2010! Just be patient.

  6. Hawk will be in within three years. He’s too close as it is right now and writers look at the “largest vote total not in the hall” stats and start feeling peer pressure to vote for the guy. His totals will bump up 2-5% a year and he’ll get in one of these days. the voting process is completely flawed though, the two morons who sent in blank ballots should be exiled to a tiny island nation that has never played baseball.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

