One of the most ridiculous ebay listings I have ever seen

April 11, 2008 at 7:09 pm | Posted in My opinions | 3 Comments

I don’t know if I’m the only one who has these feelings, but as a collector, I get pissed off from time to time when I see some unscrupulous asshat trying to rip people off or strike it rich on ebay.  Being the Dawson collector that I am, I check ebay several times a day for newly listed items.  Every once in a while, I see some idiot trying to charge twice or three times book value for a relatively common auto or game used.  This listing however, takes the ebay cake in my opinion.

If you like, you can check out the listing here.

http://cgi.ebay.com/Andre-Dawson-Signed-Cleats-from-his-last-game_W0QQitemZ300215538152QQihZ020QQcategoryZ50117QQss PageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

The long and short of it is, this human stain has an opening bid of $20,000 on what he says are the autographed cleats from Dawson’s last MLB game.  The caveat is that there is no Certification from JSA or any other reputable or even fly by night certification authority.  There is no guarantee offered from the seller that the item is genuine.  There is not even so much as a picture of Dawson signing them. 

I think my favorite part is that the person listing the item has been an ebay member since 2005, and has never bought or sold anything until now.  Meaning……….he has ZERO feedback, and he expects that someone is going to pay 20 grand for something with no guarantee of authenticity whatsoever.

This is the downside to ebay that really chaps my ass from time to time.  Feel free to discuss.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m pretty sure the Hawk didn’t wear plastic cleats. I mean, it’s not a rec-league softball game, right?

  2. Good catch Drew. I didn’t even look at that. I couldn’t get past the price. Even a game worn auto jersey only goes for $500.

  3. Times are chginang for the better if I can get this online!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

