Mailday #2 – Mario Rocks!!

April 21, 2008 at 11:21 am | Posted in My Collection | Leave a comment

The last time I made a trade for baseball cards was back in the got it, got it, need it, got it days of my youth, way back in the mid 80’s.  When I got back into the hobby earlier this year, I had the good fortune to come across WaxHeaven.com.  I commented on the site once or twice, and one day when there was a question about a 2008 UD Starquest Derek Jeter card, I emailed Mario to let him know that I had one.  A few conversations later, we had talked about the fact that I liked the Cubs, and he asked if I liked Rich Hill, which of course, I do.  Some time and a few more conversations passed, and when I got my mail on Saturday, I found this.

A package from Wax Heaven with several base and rookies that I did not have, and a 1/1 printing plate autograph.  I had been away from the hobby for almost 20 years, and my first trade back turns out to be absolutely phenomenal!!  In one package, Mario singlehandedly took my Cubs collection to another level.  And so, in return, Mario is getting every Derek Jeter and Florida Marlins card that I own. 

After having several bad experiences already at card shows and on eBay: reading WaxHeaven, and talking to Mario and other readers of his blog has really bolstered my confidence about getting back into this hobby that I love so much.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

