Mailday – A numbers game

April 28, 2008 at 9:22 pm | Posted in My Collection | Leave a comment

     Hello all!!  I’ve been sick and in the hospital for the last week or so, so I have a lot of catching up to do.  I have a couple of breaks to post, but I also got some great mail over the last week and a half and I’d like to share the latest addition to my ever growing Dawson collection.  One card is new, and one I’ve had since the Chicago Sun Times show in March.  Can you tell the difference?

     

     They are actually both the same size.  The one on top cost me a hell of a lot less to get though.  Despite the fact that it’s a dual game used auto, it is numbered 32/100.  The one on the bottom I got from the show, and was actually able to talk the dealer down to $25, which I didn’t think was that bad since it is number 3/5.  At this point in time, this is the lowest numbered Andre Dawson card in my collection.

     I absolutely love both cards, but every once in a while I start to think, does serial numbering really matter all that much?  Both of these cards would still be treasured parts of my collection, even if there were a thousand of each out there.  They’d also be a hell of a lot easier to get ahold of.  But does serial numbering and scarcity really do anything other than drive the secondary market for cards?  Wouldn’t you still love to have every single card of your favorite player even if they were available in abudance like they were back in the 80’s and 90’s?  I love all of the serial #’d triple game used auto refractor super cards that I have, but the majority of my collection is still made up of the dozens of base cards I collected as a kid.

     The discovery of game-used and auto cards of Andre is what got me back into the hobby earlier this year, but I’ve got to be honest.  I still look at and treasure my binder full of base Dawson’s just as much.  Don’t you?? 

 

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

