The ever ellusive White Whale

April 30, 2008 at 4:33 pm | Posted in My Collection | 4 Comments

     My “White Whale” has surfaced again today on the Bay. 

     I actually spotted the Gold version last week #’d 1/9!!!   But….I let it go.  The bidding got a little too high, and unfortunately Triple Threads are slightly fragile, so the card had a little bit of cut-out damage.  If I ever manage to find the actual 1/1 White Whale Printing Plate, that would be the ultimate, and as far as I’m concerned, only card to complete my collection.  Till then, I think I may give this one a try.  Wish me luck!!

 

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Man, what a beauty. I would go as high as $75 on that. How much you think it will sell for? Too bad about the ugly sig on the sticker.

  2. High book is $60. The gold #’d 1/9 sold for $53. So I’m hoping I can get it for just over the opening bid. We’ll see. They don’t pop up very often, so people get a little crazy.

    The sticker is it’s only downfall by the way. I still can’t believe that Topps uses on-card for Finest, and stickers for Triple Threads and Sterling.

    • Wardog is right Sibeen, wieslres could never handle the capacity if you took away cable. There will be a merging of the 2 for sure but there will always be fibre in the ground.

    • Clearly we’re getting nowhere trying to convince each other here Adam. The irreducible difference between us seems to be that I don’t care what people think about blogs in general and you do. As Bill O’Herlihy would say, “We’ll leave it there so???.Clearly; for the record however I would like blogs to be accepted in the mainstream, if it so happens that they’re not it won’t effect what I do.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

