2008 NL Rookie of the Year – Geovany Soto??

May 5, 2008 at 11:03 am | Posted in My opinions | 2 Comments

     I don’t know how likely of a senario this actually is with his own teammate Fukudome sure to be in the running along with Chin-Lung Hu and several others, but you wouldn’t know it by looking at how ridiculous hia auto-cards have gotten.

This SP Authentic numbered to 185 just sold for a best offer of $170

This one numbered to 10 has a BIN price of $1500 !!!

     While, as a Cubs fan, I love to see one of our rookies garnering this much collectible love and actually living up to his potential as a player, I’m a little torn.  The majority of my collection consists of Andre Dawson cards.  However, I have lately started to collect some of the other current Cubs players that I enjoy watching.  With Soto, I have no chance unless I pull a card out of a box.  Even his Sweet Spot cards are selling for twice or three times book value.  The thing I always wonder with young players though, is this kind of hype going to last?  So far this season Geo has been hitting the cover off of the ball, and throwing out runners at a 40% clip, but how many really collectible catchers are there out there?  Yadier Molina, who Soto draws comparisons to, is one of the best in the league, but you can pick his cards up all day long for next to nothing. 

     So, while I will continue to love Soto and the Cubs, I don’t think I’m ready to become a rookie prospector just yet.  Two or three years from now, if I can pick up a few of his cards for 10 or 15 bucks apiece, I’ll be a happy Cubs collector.  If they are so outrageous by then that I have no chance in hell, I’ll live with the lost opportunity.    But I bet it’ll hurt a lot less than the guy who might buy the SPA for $200 and sell it for $20.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. How about something kinda funny like:-Do Not TOUCH- ATrINTEON:ChaTges may apply- Warning:Magical object Just throwing some ideas out there, you can make one up that better suits you!I’m getting one soon too and I dont know what I want engraved either

  2. SBT, cause atleast he seems to have foreseen the situation way before these bastards, he indeed told Gyanendra of the concequences of the coalition between SPA and Maoists, he ignored and he paid. He is lot better than what we have now!!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

