The Topps Company gets one right

May 14, 2008 at 4:53 pm | Posted in Box Breaks, My opinions | 3 Comments

     You know, sometimes it still pays to sit down and write an old fashioned letter.  For the last few years, most people just fire off an angry e-mail, or call customer service and scream at some 20 year old who’s making 6 bucks an hour.  I’ve done both.  But this time I was so pissed off and disappointed with a product, that I sat down and wrote this letter.  I mailed it to at least 8 different people at The Topps Company in New York and Pennsylvania, and to be honest, I never expected a response.  I was wrong. 

     3 or 4 days after I mailed the letters, I got a call on my cell phone from  Topps.  They started off by telling me how sorry he was that I had a bad experience with one of their products, and then how much he wanted to make this right for me.  He thanked me for taking the time to sit down and send a letter, and he assured me that his number one priority in his new position is to really crack down on production quality and overall customer satisfaction with their upcoming products. 

     Overall, I was pretty happy with the conversation, and more than anything else, happy with the fact that someone from the company actually took the time to read my letter and contact me to offer a response.  But that’s not the end of the story.  When I got home and picked up my mail yesterday, I found this.

A UPS package from The Topps Company corporate office in New York.  And inside I found these.

     2 boxes of 2008 Topps Finest.  Talk about customer service!!  They actually read my letter carefully enough to note that I really liked the box of Finest that I bought last month.  So they sent me 2 boxes to make up for my bad Co-Signers experience.  I was in shock!  A big corporation actually got one right for once.

     I opened both boxes last night and here are the pulls that I got.  No Mantle cut autos or anything spectacular, but I did much better than the box that I bought.

The Reyes auto and the Gordon gold refractor were very nice to pull.  I also got a ton of blue, green and black refractors.  Also, being that I have now opened 3 boxes, I almost have a complete set!  And I now have redemption cards 3, 4, and 8, so I feel like I have a pretty good shot at getting either Fukudome or Soto.  I actually didn’t mind getting the Rip Girl auto either.  Lots of people have been complaining about them, but it didn’t replace one of my regular autos.  It just made a total of 4 autos in that box. 

     All in all, I have always loved the Finest product, and I was just really happy to see that the time and effort I took to voice my concerns was rewarded.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That Reyes auto is a beauty! Congrats.

  2. Awesome man. I have written angry letters before, but never got a response like that. Maybe I should use a little less venom in my ink.

  3. I thought I was being pretty nasty and sarcastic, but he thought it was constructive.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

