2008 Bowman – The pull of my life(so far, I hope)

May 29, 2008 at 12:10 pm | Posted in Box Breaks, My opinions | 7 Comments

     Hello all.  Sorry I haven’t written in a few days.  I’m a bit torn about the hobby right now.  I haven’t opened any new wax since I bought my Bowman jumbo.  I will still write about that at some point in the near future, I promise.  But anyway, I did get a few new Dawson cards in the mail, which you can check out here.

     Now I’m going to give you a little insight into the mind of a collecting addict.  I haven’t opened any new boxes or packs in almost 2 weeks, which is quite a while for me.  From February till now, I have opened an average of about 1 box per week.  So, after almost 2 weeks, I was starting to get that itch.  I’m sure some of you know what I’m talking about 🙂 

     On my way home from work yesterday, I drove right past the card shop, and then the rest of the way home I’m reasoning with my self in the car.  “You don’t need to buy any more cards right now”.  “But I haven’t busted any wax in almost 2 weeks”.  “Yea, but you haven’t been very happy with most of this year’s releases anyway.  Just concentrate on your Dawson collection”.  “I could just buy a few packs though.  What could it hurt?”.  And so on, all the way home.  I actually drove home, pulled into the garage and parked….and then the little collector in me won the argument.  I got back in my car, drove back the shop, and after BSing with the owner for a little while, bought 7 randomly selected packs of 2008 Bowman at my slightly discounted rate of $2.75 a pack.  And I’m so glad I did.  Out of those 7 Hobby packs, I got more good “pulls” than I did out of my entire Jumbo HTA box. 

     Out of a measely 7 packs, I pulled a Michael Buschmann Gold refractor #’d to 50, a Daric Barton on-card rookie autograph, and this.

     A 2008 Josh Vitters Bowman Chrome Prospect Gold Refractor Autograph #’d to 50!!!  Needless to say, this is the best pull of my collecting life thus far.  And as much as I hate to say it, it’s already sold.  Yes, I know I’m a Cubs collector, and yes I’m in the hobby for the collecting aspect of it, but I got so much for this card, there was no way for me not to sell it.  From what I’ve seen so far this year, there are maybe 1 or 2 BCP cards that actually gain value, however ridiculous the initial secondary market price is.  Plus by selling this 1 card and working my eBay magic correctly, I should be able to pick up at least 10 really nice Andre Dawson cards that I have had my eye on for quite some time.  Maybe even my White Whale 

     If Vitters ends up become the next (insert superstar’s name here), then I may end up with a little bit of seller’s remorse.  But, if he busts out or is just another average Major Leaguer, then I’ll be happy with my decision and my new Dawson’s. 

     But, I’d really like to know what you think.  Did I do the right thing?  Let me know.

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You better get some GREAT Dawson cards cause that is one great card to own if you are a Cubs fan.

  2. That is a saweet pull. You actually may want to gold onto that. I mean…nevermind.

  3. He already sold it! 😦

  4. Have no fear Mario. I have already gotten: a patch auto/25, lumber auto/224, auto/25, 93 Finest, jersey/50, Absolute Team Six jersey/110, and a fitted hat. And that’s only half the money so far. Trust me, I’m glad I sold it now 🙂

  5. That is a haul and then some! I would maybe take a little bit of the money and buy yourself an authentic jersey! How spank would that be?

    • Cześć Kuba. Jak Ci mija czas w Warszawie? Pewnie super tak jak zawsze. Dzisiaj u mnie nocowaÅ‚a Paula, wieczorem zrÅymÅ‚bo›iy sobie maraton filmowy i poszÅ‚yÅ›my spać dopiero ok. 3. MiaÅ‚yÅ›my robić coÅ› pysznego do jedzenia no ale skoÅ„czyÅ‚o siÄ™ tylko na paczce chipsów. CaÅ‚usy i miÅ‚ego dnia, mnie niestety czeka dzisiaj nauka.

    • Fantastic items from you, man. I’ve bear in mind your stuff previous to and you’re simply extremely wonderful. I actually like what you’ve bought right here, certainly like what you are stating and the best way through which you are saying it. You make it entertaining and you still care for to stay it smart. I can’t wait to read much more from you. That is really a terrific web site.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

