Josh Vitters Gold Refractor Auto + eBay = Player Collector Heaven

July 8, 2008 at 2:10 pm | Posted in My Collection | 8 Comments

     Hello all.  Once again my life has gotten in the way of keeping up with my posts.  I try to post at least once a week, but lately I have been working 60+ hrs a week.  So to make it up to you all, this post is going to be extra looooong.  However, I’ll also try to keep it as visual as possible.

     Anyway, on to this week’s post.  The subject of Bowman Chrome Autographs has been discussed and debated to death ever since the debut of the 2001 Albert Pujols auto rookie, and it’s meteoric rise in price.  Within a couple weeks of the release date you can witness the carnage on eBay as people bid and bid and BID on whatever Chrome autos are the hottest this year. 

     So, despite being a die-hard Cubs fan all my life, when I pulled this card out of a pack……

……I sold it immediately, and chronicled my bold stroke in this post.  I have absolutely no idea what Josh Vitters is going to become, but I already know who and what Andre Dawson is, and I know that he will always be my favorite player.

     So with that in mind, here is what I was able to turn my Vitters card into…..

A 2007 Sweet Spot Gold Signature Rich Hill

A 2008 Topps Chrome Black Printing Plate

Yes, I know these first 2 are not Dawson cards, but I still love Rich Hill even though he’s been exiled to Arizona rookie ball.  That actually allowed me to pick these up on the cheap.  I absolutely love the design & concept of the Sweet Spot cards, and even though I know nobody gives a rat’s ass about printing plates, I haven’t been back in the hobby long enough to be tired of them yet.

 

Another in the ridiculous number of parallels in the Fabric of the Game set that I am trying futily to complete.

My second copy of the Lumber Cuts autograph

Limited Lumberjacks auto #’d to 25

Limited Lumberjacks Patch Auto #’d to 25

September 1987 Beckett – when it was still a magazine

Absolute Heroes completely sick patch #’d to 25

Absolute Team Six

1993 Topps Finest – Still looking for an affordable refractor

Donruss Classics #’d to 49

My first Leather Cuts auto

Legendary Cuts #’d to 75

Donruss Signature Series

My second Absolute Heroes Patch #’d to 95

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Certified Cuts Check auto #’d to 50

My second and third copies of the Tools of the Trade Dual #’d to 250

The most bad-ass hat that I have ever owned!!  And I’m getting it auto’d later this month

And last but certainly not least, not 1…….

…..but 2 out the 18 made 2007 Triple Threads Patch, Bat, Autograph!!

And…..finally we come to the end.  Lest you think that I’m just bragging and showing off, the whole point is that Bowman Chrome Autographs are not the end all be all of the card collecting world.  I could really care less if the Vitters card ends up becoming more valuable.  Selling that card when I did allowed me to get all of these items which have taken my Dawson collection to another level entirely.

     So, I put it to you, my very few readers, once again.  Having seen all of the evidence, did I do the right thing by selling the Josh Vitters card when I did??

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That is unbelieable.
    How are you going to get it auto’d, though?
    I have seen the Hawk leaving games at Dolphin Stadium. He drives a big, fancy Mercedes with a personalized license plate that reads “HAWK”.

    Pretty badass!

  2. Try asking Andre Dawson himself if he’ll sell you one of his many 1993 Finest Refractors.

  3. Great idea Chris, thanks.

    Hey Mario, Andre is going to be at Field of Dreams at Woodfield Mall in Schaumburg on Friday July 25th from 6-8pm, and I will be there!!

  4. Impressive to say the least! Man, those 1993 refractors are expensive, I cant believe how popular that set is.

  5. Think of the story this will make if Vitters turns out to be a bust. No one will believe it!

  6. Josh who?

  7. I really liked your blog with the Albert Pujols item. I think Pujols will be an instant hall-of-famer.
    I try to follow as much MLB news as I can from Caracas, Venzuela.

  8. If you wish for to improve your experience simply keep
    visiting this web page and be updated with the newest information posted here.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

